Home  Contact  
  About the action Jean Monnet
Teaching staff
MA in European Economic relations
International Economic Summer School in Oradea



The Jean Monnet Project "European Integration in University Studies" is a European Commission information project, undertaken at the request of the universities, whose aim is to facilitate the introduction of European integration studies in universities by means of start-up subsidies.
The term European integration studies is taken to mean the construction of the European Community and its related institutional, legal, political, economic and social developments.
The Jean Monnet Project targets disciplines in which Community developments are an increasingly important part of the subject studied, i.e.

  • Community Law;

  • European Economic Integration;

  • European Political Integration;

  • History of the European Construction Process;

The Jean Monnet Projects aimed at universities and other higher education establishments (whose university level status is recognised by the national authorities) in the member states of the European Union.
Subsidies awarded in the framework of the Jean Monnet Project represent co-financing for the setting up of:

  1. Jean Monnet Chairs and "ad personam" Jean Monnet Chairs

A symbolic term corresponding to a full-time teaching post entirely devoted to the teaching of European integration.

  1. Permanent Courses on European integration

Courses concentrating entirely on European integration (average 60 hours) and offered at undergraduate or postgraduate level with as many hours per academic year as a permanent annual course, according to the procedures of each country.

  1. European Modules

A short programme of studies concentrating entirely on European integration, of at least 30 hours duration in one of the four priority disciplines of the Jean Monnet Project.

  1. Jean Monnet European Centre of excellence

A Label including scientific and human resources dealing with European integration studies and research within the university and/or at a regional level.
The Jean Monnet Project awards funds on a co-financing basis for a start-up period of three years, in exchange for a commitment on the part of the university to maintain the teaching activities thus created for a period of at least four years following the period of Community co-financing, that is a total period of seven years.
The Jean Monnet Project is run in strict consultation with the university authorities by means of co-operation with the European University Council for the Jean Monnet Project, an independent academic body which supports the Commission in the implementation of the programme, the selection of the projects submitted by the universities, the academic follow-up of the successful projects and the organisation of activities with the network of Jean Monnet professors.
The European University Council for the Jean Monnet Project is composed of representatives of university institutions(Vice-Chancellors/Rectors) elected by the Confederation of European Union Rectors’ Conferences and representatives of professors specialising in European integration studies, elected by ECSA-Europe (European Community Studies Association), which brings together the national associations of European integration studies.
Since 1990, the Jean Monnet Project has enabled the Member States to set up 2319 new university teaching projects in European integration issues of which 47 are European Centres of excellence, 491 Jean Monnet Chairs, 800 Permanent Courses and 641 European Modules.